EuroPride is a pan-European international LGBTI event featuring a Pride parade, hosted by a different European city each year

What is EuroPride?

The host city is usually one with an established LGBTI+ Pride event or a strong LGBTI+ community. When voting for the host city, the experience of the organisers, the political significance of the event for the region and host city’s LGBTI+ friendliness all come into play.

The EuroPride licence is owned by European Pride Organisers Association, an umbrella organisation for European Pride organisers. The host city of EuroPride is chosen by member organisations at the Annual General Meeting.

EuroPride was first celebrated in London in 1992, attended by estimated crowds of over 100,000. Since then it has continued to grow both in number of participants and political significance, though not always at the same time. In 1997 in Paris over 300,000 people marched to the Bastille. In 2011 around one million people attended Pride festivities in Rome by the Coliseum. Some smaller scale EuroPrides have taken place, such as in Warsaw, Poland, where 10,000 people braved the streets of still conservative ex-communist country to hold an important political demonstration that proved to be a turning point for LGBT rights in Poland. In 2015, EuroPride took place in Riga, Latvia, the first time in a former Soviet country, and in 2022 it will take place in Belgrade, Serbia, the first time in south-eastern Europe and in a city where Pride had a deeply troubled early history.

It was decided by EPOA that a WorldPride event held in Europe also automatically carries the title of EuroPride so there are no two clashing international LGBTI+ pride events in Europe the same year. In 2017, WorldPride took place in Madrid, Spain, and in 2021 it took place in Copenhagen, Denmark.

WorldPride, organised by InterPride (the international Pride network), is an international Pride event that promotes LGBTI issues on a global level.

Forthcoming EuroPrides

2022: Belgrade, Serbia

2023: Valletta, Malta

2024: Thessaloniki, Greece

Applying for EuroPride

Any full member organisation of EPOA may apply to host EuroPride. Further information on the process and criteria can be found on this page.



WP_20140901_12_57_00_Pro-1The EuroPride Quilt
The EuroPride Quilt represents every city, organisation and community that EuroPride has ever been awarded to. Each of the EuroPride organisers has left their mark on the Pride movement’s history and is reflected in the diversity and colourfulness of the EuroPride Quilt. Passing on the Quilt from city to city, from community to community, is not a mere formality of EuroPride changing host cities but shows us the true spirit of EuroPride – unity and continuity that is being created by moving millions in pride!


Host cities of EuroPride

1992 London, UK
1993 Berlin, Germany
1994 Amsterdam, Netherlands
1996 Copenhagen, Denmark
1997 Paris, France
1998 Stockholm, Sweden
2000 Rome (WorldPride), Italy
2001 Vienna, Austria
2002 Cologne, Germany
2003 Manchester, UK
2004 Hamburg, Germany
2005 Oslo, Norway
2006 London, UK
2007 Madrid, Spain
2008 Stockholm, Sweden
2009 Zurich, Switzerland
2010 Warsaw, Poland
2011 Rome, Italy
2012 London (WorldPride), UK
2013 Marseille, France
2014 Oslo, Norway
2015 Riga, Latvia
2016 Amsterdam, Netherlands
2017 Madrid (WorldPride), Spain
2018 Stockholm & Gothenburg, Sweden
2019 Vienna, Austria
2020 Global Pride
2021 Copenhagen (WorldPride), Denmark
2022 Belgrade, Serbia
2023 Valletta, Malta
2024 Thessaloniki, Greece