EuroPride is a pan-European international LGBTI event featuring a Pride parade, hosted by a different European city each year

What is EuroPride?

The host city is usually one with an established LGBTI Pride event or a strong LGBTI community. When voting for the host city, the experience of the organisers, the political significance of the event for the region and host city’s LGBTI friendliness all come into play.

The EuroPride licence is owned by European Pride Organisers Association, an umbrella organisation for European Pride organisers. The host city of the Association and therefore is chosen by member organisations.

EuroPride was first celebrated in London in 1992, attended by estimated crowds of over 100,000. Since then it has continued to grow both in number of participants and political significance, though not always at the same time. In 1997 in Paris over 300,000 people marched to the Bastille. In 2011 around one million people attended Pride festivities in Rome by the Coliseum. Some smaller scale EuroPrides have taken place, such as in Warsaw, Poland, where 10,000 people braved the streets of still conservative ex-communist country to hold an important political demonstration that proved to be a turning point for LGBT rights in Poland. In 2015, EuroPride took place in Riga, Latvia, the first time in a former Soviet country, and in 2020 it will take place in Thessaloníki, Greece, the first time in south-eastern Europe.

It was decided by EPOA that a WorldPride event held in Europe also automatically carries the title of EuroPride so there are no two clashing international LGBTI pride events in Europe the same year. In 2017, WorldPride took place in Madrid, Spain, and in 2021 it will be in Copenhagen, Denmark.

WorldPride, organised by InterPride (International Pride Organisers Assocation, of which EPOA is a part), is an international Pride event that promotes LGBTI issues on an global level.

Forthcoming EuroPrides

Web links to future EuroPride hosts appear in the footer of each page of our website.

2021: Copenhagen, Denmark (WorldPride)

2022: Belgrade, Serbia

WP_20140901_12_57_00_Pro-1The EuroPride Quilt
The EuroPride Quilt represents every city, organisation and community that EuroPride has ever been awarded to. Each of the EuroPride organisers has left their mark on the Pride movement’s history and is reflected in the diversity and colourfulness of the EuroPride Quilt. Passing on the Quilt from city to city, from community to community, is not a mere formality of EuroPride changing host cities but shows us the true spirit of EuroPride – unity and continuity that is being created by moving millions in pride!


Host cities of EuroPride

1992 London
1993 Berlin
1994 Amsterdam
1996 Copenhagen
1997 Paris
1998 Stockholm
2000 Rome (WorldPride)
2001 Vienna
2002 Cologne
2003 Manchester
2004 Hamburg
2005 Oslo
2006 London
2007 Madrid
2008 Stockholm
2009 Zurich
2010 Warsaw
2011 Rome
2012 London (WorldPride)
2013 Marseille
2014 Oslo
2015 Riga
2016 Amsterdam
2017 Madrid (WorldPride)
2018 Stockholm & Gothenburg
2019 Vienna
2020 Thessaloniki
2021 Copenhagen (WorldPride)
2022 Belgrade