EuroPride 2026 title awarded to Pride Amsterdam

Brussels, Monday 6 February 2023

The European Pride Organisers Association (EPOA) has announced that Pride Amsterdam will hold the title of EuroPride in 2026, when they will also hold the WorldPride title.

This follows the convention in which each WorldPride held in Europe (Rome 2000, London 2012, Madrid 2017, Copenhagen 2021) was also awarded EuroPride status. This would usually have been settled more than a year ago but InterPride – the body that licenses WorldPride – decided to accept bids for a 2026 edition of WorldPride. This was unexpected as WorldPride was typically never held in consecutive years.

As a result, Pride Amsterdam is awarded EuroPride 2026 and no letters of intent are accepted. Letters of intent for EuroPride 2027 will be accepted until 31 March 2024, with the vote taking place at the annual general meeting in autumn 2024. Information on how to apply for EuroPride can be found here.

Pride in Gloucestershire (UK), which had announced in 2019 that it would bid to host in 2026, has agreed to defer to 2027 in order to respect the previous convention, to support Pride Amsterdam in delivering an incredible WorldPride, and to enhance their own bid for EuroPride in 2027, which would be the first in a predominantly rural area.

Kristine Garina, President of EPOA, said:

“Together with my board colleagues I am delighted that we have been able to support Pride Amsterdam’s delivery of WorldPride in 2026, and very grateful to Pride in Gloucestershire for their understanding and willingness to move their bid to 2027. This shows the solidarity that lies at the core of our movement, and I know that Pride in Gloucestershire will use the extra time to put even more effort into their bid.”


Image: Artur Ament on Unsplash

Host cities of EuroPride

1992 London 1993 Berlin 1994 Amsterdam 1996 Copenhagen 1997 Paris 1998 Stockholm 2000 Rome (WorldPride) 2001 Vienna 2002 Cologne 2003 Manchester 2004 Hamburg 2005 Oslo 2006 London 2007 Madrid 2008 Stockholm 2009 Zurich 2010 Warsaw 2011 Rome 2012 London (WorldPride) 2013 Marseille 2014 Oslo 2015 Riga 2016 Amsterdam 2017 Madrid (WorldPride) 2018 Stockholm & Gothenburg 2019 Vienna 2020 Thessaloniki 2021 Copenhagen (WorldPride) 2022 Belgrade