Lublin’s Equality March must go ahead

The first ‘Marsz Równości’ (Equality March) scheduled to take place in the city of Lublin, Poland, this weekend has been cancelled, after the city’s mayor cited ‘security concerns’.

Marsz Równości on Facebook

According to news reports, regional governor, Przemysław Czarnek, appointed by the ruling Law & Justice (PiS) party, called on Mayor Krzysztof Żuk to cancel the event. Czarnek accused equality demonstrators of “deviance” and “perversion” and said the march promotes “sexual behaviour incompatible with nature” and “pedophilia”, according to the Poland in English website.

President of the European Pride Organisers Association (EPOA), Kristine Garina, said:

“It is deeply depressing that we keep having to have the same conversations about Poland. Opposition to equality marches in Poland has found its way into European case law on the freedom of assembly, and you would think that eight years after Warsaw hosted EuroPride, attitudes would be changing.

But this is not the case. The Equality March this weekend must be allowed to go ahead. Right-wing and homophobic city officials like Mayor Żuk must realise they cannot stand in the way of LGBTI people’s human rights, even when elections are approaching. We will be watching to see what happens this weekend and we demand that this unlawful ban is lifted.”

The European Pride Organisers Association, the international NGO that licences EuroPride and supports the development of the Pride movement in Europe, will be monitoring developments in the coming days.

Further information: Visit the organisers’ Facebook Page and the Facebook Event for the Equality March.

Media enquiries: Please email or call +44 77 29 24 29 46. Interviews can be arranged with EPOA spokespeople.

Host cities of EuroPride

1992 London 1993 Berlin 1994 Amsterdam 1996 Copenhagen 1997 Paris 1998 Stockholm 2000 Rome (WorldPride) 2001 Vienna 2002 Cologne 2003 Manchester 2004 Hamburg 2005 Oslo 2006 London 2007 Madrid 2008 Stockholm 2009 Zurich 2010 Warsaw 2011 Rome 2012 London (WorldPride) 2013 Marseille 2014 Oslo 2015 Riga 2016 Amsterdam 2017 Madrid (WorldPride) 2018 Stockholm & Gothenburg 2019 Vienna 2020 Global Pride 2021 Copenhagen (WorldPride) 2022 Belgrade 2023 Malta 2024 Thessaloniki 2025 Lisbon 2026 Amsterdam (WorldPride)