METU Pride acquittal is good news, but it should never have got this far

Brussels, 8 October 2021

Nineteen defendants who have spent more than two-and-a-half years awaiting trial for organising a Pride at the Middle Eastern Technical University (METU) in Ankara, Turkey, have today been acquitted by 39th Penal Court of First Instance.

The defendants – 18 students and one member of the University’s academic staff – had been facing up to three years in prison for organising a Pride against an order of the University’s rector. International human rights organisations including the European Pride Organisers Association had condemned the criminal charges and urged the court to acquit. Freedom of assembly and freedom of association are fundamental human rights enshrined in the European Convention on Human Rights, ratified by Turkey as a member of the Council of Europe.

Commenting on the acquittal, Kristine Garina, President of the European Pride Organisers Association said:

“We are of course all delighted that the METU Pride defendants have all been acquitted, but it is a source of national shame for Turkey that these charges were brought and that 18 young people should spend more than two years worrying about their future, their prospects and their liberty. The European Court of Human Rights has long held that Pride marches are protected under the Convention, making this case wholly unnecessary and an utter waste of time.”

“Governments across Europe must recognise that LGBTI+ people have the same rights to come together and be together as anyone else, and these rights must be protected.”

The European Pride Organisers Association first met with two of the METU Pride organisers in October 2019, and has met with them several times since. The Association’s members have helped to raise awareness and show solidarity.


Host cities of EuroPride

1992 London 1993 Berlin 1994 Amsterdam 1996 Copenhagen 1997 Paris 1998 Stockholm 2000 Rome (WorldPride) 2001 Vienna 2002 Cologne 2003 Manchester 2004 Hamburg 2005 Oslo 2006 London 2007 Madrid 2008 Stockholm 2009 Zurich 2010 Warsaw 2011 Rome 2012 London (WorldPride) 2013 Marseille 2014 Oslo 2015 Riga 2016 Amsterdam 2017 Madrid (WorldPride) 2018 Stockholm & Gothenburg 2019 Vienna 2020 Global Pride 2021 Copenhagen (WorldPride) 2022 Belgrade 2023 Malta 2024 Thessaloniki 2025 Lisbon 2026 Amsterdam (WorldPride)